Compare

How Fettledesk compares

Fettledesk next to four hosted service desks and one open-source one. It's a pre-release, so some rows say “Planned”. We'd rather you knew before you choose.

Where Fettledesk is strong

  • Yours to run. Free, open source and on your own server, with no per-agent price.
  • Nothing held back. The help centre, SLAs, approvals and asset management aren't kept for a top tier.
  • Support and planning together. Boards, backlog and sprints sit in the same app as the tickets.

Where it isn't there yet

  • Single sign-on and two-factor sign-in arrive in 1.0, with a Jira importer.
  • A knowledge base, automation rules and webhooks come in 1.2.
  • Integrations are few next to the big marketplaces, and AI features aren't released yet.

Feature by feature

Each cell links to the page it came from. “Not stated” means the vendor's pages don't mention it, not that it's missing. Prices are list prices before tax, per person a month.

Fettledesk compared with Zendesk, Freshdesk, Jira Service Management, Help Scout and Zammad, checked 22 October 2026
Feature FettledeskSelf-hosted, AGPL ZendeskHosted FreshdeskHosted Jira Service ManagementHosted Help ScoutHosted ZammadSelf-hosted or hosted, AGPL
Hosting, licence and price
Run it on your own server YesOne Docker command; HTTPS set-up included1 NoHosted service only2 NoHosted service only3 NoData Center ended for new customers on 30 Mar 2026 and reaches end of life on 28 Mar 20294 NoHosted service only5 YesDocker, Kubernetes (Helm) or DEB/RPM packages6
Open-source licence YesAGPL-3.0, with attribution terms in NOTICE1 NoProprietary2 NoProprietary3 NoProprietary7 NoProprietary5 YesAGPL-3.06
Price Free. No paid tier today, and what it does now stays free1 From US$19 per agent a month (Support Team, billed yearly); Suite from US$552 From US$19 per agent a month (Growth, billed yearly); no free plan listed3 Free for 3 agents; Standard US$21.50, Premium US$55.28 per agent a month7 Free for 5 users and 100 contacts a month; Standard US$25, Plus US$45, Pro US$75 per user a month5 Self-hosted: free (support packages from €2,999 a year). Hosted: from €7 per agent a month68
Sign-in and security
Single sign-on (SAML or OpenID Connect) PlannedOpenID Connect and SAML are planned for 1.01 YesSAML and JWT on every plan9 YesListed on every plan3 Paid planNeeds an Atlassian Guard subscription; included with Enterprise7 Paid planSAML on Pro; an add-on on other plans5 YesSAML, OpenID Connect, Shibboleth and LDAP10
Two-factor sign-in In progressAuthenticator apps, part-built; due in 1.0111 YesAdmins can require it12 YesAdmins can enforce it13 YesEnforcing it for everyone needs Atlassian Guard7 YesAdmins can require it14 Yes10
Service desk
Help centre for the people you support YesRequest forms, “My requests”, customer organisations, optional self sign-up1 Paid planHelp centre from Suite Team; customer portal on Suite Professional2 YesCustomer portal on every plan3 YesCustomer portal on Free7 Paid planSecure customer portal on Plus5 YesCustomer interface to follow requests10
Knowledge base PlannedPlanned for 1.21 Paid planSuite Team and up2 YesEvery plan3 YesEmbedded knowledge base on Free7 YesOne Docs site with 10 articles on Free; more on paid plans5 YesHosted: Professional and up810
Email becomes tickets YesMicrosoft 365, Google Workspace or IMAP; replies thread back1 Yes2 Yes3 YesEmail, portal, chat, Slack and Teams7 YesShared inboxes5 YesEmail, chat, phone and social channels6
Service levels (SLAs) YesResponse and resolution targets, business hours, pausing, warnings and escalation1 Paid planSuite Professional2 Paid planMultiple SLA policies on Pro3 YesListed in Atlassian’s plan comparison; we couldn’t confirm the lowest plan15 Paid planOne basic policy on Standard; more on Plus and Pro5 YesHosted: Professional and up810
Approvals YesAny one or all approvers; declining needs a reason the requester sees1 Paid planApproval workflows on Suite Enterprise2 Paid planEnterprise (our reading of the pricing table)3 Paid planChange approval workflows on Premium; we couldn’t confirm basic approvals by plan7 Not stated5 Not stated10
Automation rules PartialWorkflow rules on transitions (requirements, auto-assign); general automation rules planned for 1.21 YesTriggers and automations on every plan; no caps listed2 YesEvery plan; no caps listed3 Capped1,250 steps a month on Free, 3,000 per agent on Standard; extra use billed at US$0.50 per 1,000 steps from 3 Dec 2026716 Capped150 basic workflows on Standard, 500 on Plus, unlimited on Pro5 YesTriggers, schedulers and core workflows; no caps listed10
Custom fields and forms PartialRequest forms with your own questions, and asset types with your own fields; ticket fields are fixed1 YesConditional ticket fields on Suite Professional2 YesAdvanced custom fields on Pro3 YesCustom forms on Free7 YesUp to 10 custom fields per conversation5 YesFor tickets, users and organisations10
Asset management YesAsset types, loans, relationship map, QR labels, alerts, and an API for inventory tools1 PartialIT asset management is in an early access programme17 NoNot in Freshdesk; Freshworks offers it in Freshservice318 Paid planAssets from Standard; hardware asset management on Premium7 Not stated5 PartialThrough the i-doit integration10
Boards, backlog and sprints in the same app YesBoards with swimlanes, backlog, sprints, burndown and a query language1 Not stated2 Not stated3 Not statedNot on the JSM pricing page; Jira, sold separately, has them719 Not stated5 Not stated10
Data and integrations
API and webhooks PartialDocumented REST API (OpenAPI); tokens only for asset ingestion so far; webhooks planned for 1.21 YesAPI on every plan, and a webhooks API220 Yes21 Yes22 YesAPI (200 to 800 calls a minute by plan) and webhooks5 Yes10
Import from another help desk PlannedA Jira importer is planned for 1.01 Not compared Not compared YesCSV import23 Not compared YesMigrator for OTRS, Freshdesk and Zendesk; CSV import10
Integrations PartialInventory tools (PowerShell, Intune, Ansible, osquery) send in devices; chat apps are planned1 YesApp marketplace24 YesApp marketplace25 YesAtlassian Marketplace26 YesSalesforce, Jira and HubSpot on Plus5 Yesi-doit, GitHub, GitLab, Microsoft Teams, Grafana10
AI and accessibility
AI features In progressBring your own model (OpenAI, Anthropic, xAI, Google or local) plus an MCP server, off by default; built, not released27 YesAI agents on every plan; Copilot is a US$50 per agent add-on from Professional2 Paid planAI Agent: 500 sessions, then US$49 per 100; Copilot US$29 per agent from Pro3 Paid planRovo search, chat and agents from Standard; virtual service agent on Premium7 Paid planAI Assist on Standard, AI Drafts on Plus; AI Answers US$0.75 per resolution5 YesSummaries, writing assistant and AI agents; hosted plans charge €0.03 per AI call810
Accessibility Aims for WCAG 2.1 AA; axe checks and a keyboard-only walkthrough in tests; no third-party audit yet1 Targets WCAG 2.2 AA; publishes audited conformance reports (VPATs)28 Conformance reports for the agent and customer portals against WCAG 2.2 AA29 Conformance report for JSM Cloud against WCAG 2.2 AA30 Aims for WCAG 2.1 Level A; audited with Deque3132 Not stated on the pages we checked10

What's coming

How Fettledesk's column in the chart changes with each release. This follows the roadmap in the README; releases aren't dated, because we'd rather ship them right than on time.

How Fettledesk's column in the comparison changes with each release
Feature TodayVersion 0.5.4 Built, not releasedOn a branch 1.0Next 1.2After 1.0 LaterPlanned
Single sign-on (SAML or OpenID Connect) PlannedOpenID Connect and SAML are planned for 1.0 No change YesOpenID Connect and SAML, free; can be required for staff No change No change
Two-factor sign-in In progressAuthenticator apps, part-built; due in 1.0 No change YesAuthenticator apps with recovery codes; can be required for admins No change No change
Import from another help desk PlannedA Jira importer is planned for 1.0 No change PartialFrom Jira: projects, issues, comments, attachments and people No change No change
Knowledge base PlannedPlanned for 1.2 No change No change Yes No change
Automation rules PartialWorkflow rules on transitions (requirements, auto-assign); general automation rules planned for 1.2 No change No change YesAutomation rules, with no usage caps No change
API and webhooks PartialDocumented REST API (OpenAPI); tokens only for asset ingestion so far; webhooks planned for 1.2 No change No change YesOutgoing webhooks No change
Integrations PartialInventory tools (PowerShell, Intune, Ansible, osquery) send in devices; chat apps are planned No change No change No change PartialAdds Microsoft Teams, Slack and Discord
Asset management YesAsset types, loans, relationship map, QR labels, alerts, and an API for inventory tools No change No change No change YesAdds contracts, depreciation and asset reports
AI features In progressBring your own model (OpenAI, Anthropic, xAI, Google or local) plus an MCP server, off by default; built, not released YesBring your own model and an MCP server; release to be scheduled No change No change No change

Also in 1.0

  • Account provisioning from your directory (SCIM)
  • An external security review

Also planned for later

  • Built-in backup and restore
  • Configurable dashboards
  • Languages other than English
  • Running several app containers

Ideas we're considering

Not promises yet: they join the roadmap once they're planned.

  • Importers from Zendesk, Freshdesk and Jira Service Management
  • A chat widget for the help centre
  • Device sync straight from Intune, Jamf and Google Admin
  • An independent accessibility audit, with a published conformance report
  • One sign-in across Fettledesk and Fettleboard
  • For schools: parent and student accounts, loans linked to a student, and term-time business hours

Paying for Fettledesk, one day

Fettledesk on your own server is free, and everything it does stays free. To keep it going we plan to charge for things around it: running it for you, and support. These are the plans we're thinking of.

Planned pricing for future Pro plans. Currently, Fettledesk is free to use and self-host.

Available now

Self-hosted

Free for good

  • Every feature, now and as new ones arrive
  • Unlimited agents, customers and tickets
  • Runs on your server; your data stays there
  • Community help in GitHub issues

Planned

Pro Support

From A$2,500 a year, per organisation

  • For self-hosted Fettledesk
  • Answers by email within one business day
  • Help with upgrades and moving in
  • Early notice of security fixes

Planned

Pro Hosted

A$15 per agent a month, billed yearly

  • We run it, update it and back it up
  • Free for up to 3 agents
  • Help-centre customers free and unlimited
  • The same features as self-hosted

Planned

Pro Business

A$25 per agent a month, billed yearly

  • Everything in Pro Hosted
  • Choice of data region
  • 99.9% uptime commitment
  • Priority support and audit-log export

Indicative prices in Australian dollars, including GST, for plans we expect to offer after 1.0 and an independent security review. They may change before launch. Schools and charities would pay half. For comparison, the hosted services above start their paid plans at US$19 to US$25 per agent a month.

Notes

Sources

All checked on 22 October 2026.

  1. Fettledesk README, version 0.5.4
  2. Zendesk pricing
  3. Freshdesk pricing
  4. Atlassian: Data Center end of life
  5. Help Scout pricing
  6. Zammad on GitHub (licence and install options)
  7. Jira Service Management pricing
  8. Zammad pricing
  9. Zendesk: Enabling enterprise single sign-on
  10. Zammad features
  11. Fettledesk branch m6-two-factor (two-factor sign-in, part done)
  12. Zendesk: Managing two-factor authentication for agents and admins
  13. Freshworks support: account security and two-factor authentication
  14. Help Scout: Set up two-factor authentication
  15. Atlassian support: Explore Jira Cloud plans
  16. Atlassian support: How is my automation usage calculated?
  17. Zendesk: Announcing the IT asset management EAP
  18. Freshservice, Freshworks’ IT service management product
  19. Jira pricing
  20. Zendesk developer docs: Webhooks API
  21. Freshdesk API reference
  22. Atlassian developer docs: Jira webhooks
  23. Atlassian support: Import data from a CSV file
  24. Zendesk Marketplace
  25. Freshworks Marketplace: Freshdesk apps
  26. Atlassian Marketplace
  27. Fettledesk: “Connecting your own AI” design (unreleased branch ai-connections)
  28. Zendesk product accessibility
  29. Freshworks: accessibility conformance documents for Freshdesk
  30. Atlassian accessibility conformance reports
  31. Help Scout accessibility statement
  32. Deque: Help Scout’s audit journey